The Department of Community Medicine was established in 1999 and has the following core objectives:

1. To provide a full range of preventive and curative health services
2. To train specialist in the field of Community Medicine
3. To carry out health research
4. To organize, supervise and monitor health programs in communities in Abia State

The department has a total of 71 staff made of 7 consultants, 16 senior Registrars, 2 medical officers and 1 junior resident and 45 other staff.
The department is adjudged as having the highest pass rate in both National and West African Postgraduate colleges. One of our resident was overall best and won Abimbola Prize in the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria.
It delivers her mandate through her two Comprehensive Primary Healthcare Centres at Nsukwe in Umuahia South LGA and Umuigu inIkwuano LGA and also Primary Healthcare Centre in Ozu-Abam in Arochukwu LGA.

The department oversees the activities of the TB clinic, Kirk ward and Immunization. It is also part of the management of HIV/AIDS clinic and Family Planning clinic.

The Department has the following units Occupational Health and Safety, Epidemiology and biostatistics, Health Management and Policy, Environmental Health, Family planning, Infant welfare and Immunization, and TB/HIV Clinic.